Dewhurst Torevell prize 2011

May 16th, 2011, by Phil Bennett

Dewhurst Torevell prize 2011: tie result for first time in the award’s 14 year history

The Dewhurst Torevell Annual Chetham’s Music school prize has been in existence since 1997 and for the first time in its history the 2011 prize has resulted in a tie.

The Robertson String Quartet, Chetham’s Senior Trombone Quartet , Koulouri-Comsta Piano Trio and The Urbis Saxophone Quartet were all awarded the Dewhurst Torevell prize for musical presentation at the competition and award ceremony on 12th May.

Held in Chetham’s Baronial Hall, the competition requires performers to present to the audience before playing their chosen piece of music.

Steven Threlfall, Director of Music at Chetham’s selected the finalists who played in front of the judging audience.

As in previous years, the musicians performed musical compositions of their choice.

Commenting on the competition, Dewhurst Torevell Director Chris Little said

“To our continuing disbelief the standard of presentation and playing has managed to remain as good, if not better than, previous years. The judging proved exceptionally difficult this year and we were delighted to be able to award the prize to four outstanding musicians”

Dewhurst Torevell has supported Chetham’s School of Music for many years and in addition to sponsoring the Dewhurst Torevell prize for musical presentation, Dewhurst Torevell Chairman Alan Torevell is Chair of the Humphrey Chetham Club. Previous winners of the Dewhurst Torevell award for musical presentation include The Wu Quartet and Rebecca Herman.